Best books of 2016

I cannot believe how quickly 2016 came and went. It was such a busy year, especially for books! I love this little chart that Goodreads made for my year in books…

2016-year-in-books

This year I read 106 books which was 6 books over my goal for the year. I read a total of 32,091 books, wooza! That is a lot of pages. My longest book was Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I re-read this book since my husband was reading it for the first time and I remembered how much I adore this series. Any Outlander fans out there?

Let’s get down to the books that made 2016 a great read! I broke down my books in to categories to try and wrap my head around all the great, and not so great, books that I read this year. I hope you like it. 🙂

Best Cookbook

thug

Thug Kitchen 101  is easily my favorite cookbook of the year. I have been following Thug Kitchen for years and own every single one of their cookbooks. #thugkitchenjunkie I love that this cookbook not only promotes healthy vegan eating but it also teaches you how to make delicious vegan meals fast af. If you are looking for some healthy new meals that you can make quickly you should check this book out! I should note, if you do not like profanity this cookbook is not for you.

Best Thriller

51p3outsh8l

My favorite thriller of the year is The Good Girl. Y’all this book is crazy. I don’t want to give any of the story line away because of the plot twists but seriously if you like thrillers, check this sucker out!

Best Book of the Month Book

28187230

The Woman in Cabin 10 was my favorite Book of the Month book. I could not put this book down and was constantly on edge about where the story was going to go. In this book journalist Lo Blacklock is given the assignment of a lifetime, to sail on the first voyage of a luxury cruise line.Little does Lo know that her world, that is already turned upside down, is about to get even crazier. Hang on for the ride!

Best Collection of Poetry

ma

Milk & Honey was my favorite collection of poetry this year but to be honest I loved all the poetry I read this year. I just found Rupi Kaur’s writing so beautiful. Funny story, I requested some of my poetry books through my work’s InterLibrary Loan (ILL) system (for those of you that do not know I am a librarian and instruction designer by day!) and some people in the office just happened to flip the book open to one of the more risque poems and were wondering what in the world I had ordered. Woops.

Favorite Series

slaughter-coverfan

The Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter. I cannot get enough of Karin Slaughter. I know that I have talked about these series before on my blog so I will keep it short and sweet. If you love thrillers check out this series.

What were you favorite books of 2016? I can’t wait to hear about them below!

Leave a Reply

